This history is a living document. Please forward any additions or corrections to the executive.

The Canadian Council of Professional Psychology Programs (CCPPP) formerly known as the Canadian Council of Clinical Psychology Programme Directors or CCCPPD was founded in 1977 by Park Davidson of the University of British Columbia. The organization was developed “to serve as the interface between academic programs and internship training sites and to create an arena for program directors to exchange ideas about professional training.” (Alden et al., 1996. p. 223.) According to Ken Craig the earliest meetings from which the CCCPPD would arise were held in the mid ‘70s. Park Davidson had recently been CPA President and was Professor of Psychology and Director of the UBC Clinical Program at the time. Ken remembers Park as “a very dedicated, effective, and likeable man with great skills in bringing people together. Sadly, a tragic MVA accident in late 1980 led to the deaths of both Park and his wife Sheena, an event that many of us continue to mourn”.

In the early ‘80s, a major focus for the Council was development of accreditation criteria for graduate clinical programmes across Canada. John Schallow from the University of Manitoba chaired the earliest committees followed by Ken Craig. This work was encouraged by the CPA Committee on Professional Affairs through the creation of a sub-committee on accreditation, chaired by Ken Craig of UBC. Draft accreditation criteria, modelled on but not identical to those of the American Psychological Association, were circulated in 1981. Over the next two years, there was heated debate, whether to adopt standards developed by OPA or APA as the basis for recommendations to CPA. The Council ultimately decided to use the APA standards and procedures as guidelines for the CPA program and a small committee of the Council chaired by Ken Craig produced draft standards for Council review. According to Ken Craig, “discussions of these standards at the 1981and 1982 Council meetings were vigorous, if not raucous”. John Conway, and others captured the spirit of these debates in Canadian Psychology, 1984, 177-191 and 192-231. Some of the background is provided in a paper by Craig, K. D. (1993)

Ken Craig was able to coordinate the relationship between CCCPPD and CPA, as he had been elected to the CPA Board of Directors in 1982 and chaired the Professional Affairs Committee for a number of years. He recalls that “Terry Hogan, who became CPA President at that time, charged the Professional Affairs Committee with the responsibility to ensure that an accreditation program was developed”. In 1983, the revised and refined Accreditation Criteria for Clinical Psychology Programmes and Internships (1984) were strongly endorsed by the CCCPPD and adopted by the CPA Board.” (Doyle et al., 1993. p 80-81).

Through this process the CCCPPD became more organized and between 1982 and 1985, the executive started writing bylaws and began collecting dues. In the 1990’s during Bob Van Mastrigt’s presidency, the name was changed from the Canadian Council of Clinical Psychology Program Directors (CCCPPD) to the Canadian Council of Clinical Psychology Programs (CCCPP) to permit program representatives other than the director to attend meetings. The name was then changed again from CCCPP to the Canadian Council of Professional Psychology Programs (CCPPP) to be more inclusive of counseling psychology, neuropsychology, and other branches of professional psychology.

Also in the 1990’s an article by Lynn Alden and others from CCPPP outlines the priorities for professional training in the 90’s. Issues raised included: the development of core curriculum for professional training programs, coping with budget cuts, preparing students for training in nontraditional settings, options for delivering clinical supervision, multicultural issues in training, training in business and entrepreneurial skills.

In the later 1990’s, there was considerable discussion as to whether internship programs in Canada should use APPIC criteria. Since 2000, CCPPP’s profile was heightened with APPIC and other colleagues in U.S. training organizations, thanks to a committee of CCPPP members (Carl von Baeyer, John Pearce, Sandra Clark, Stewart Longman, Jane McEwan), Laurene Wilson (Committee Chair), and Janice Cohen (President). The committee developed guidelines for internship application reference letters, which Janice and Laurene subsequently evaluated and presented both at APPIC and CPA conferences. These guidelines are now used widely in Canada but also in the U.S.

The other major issue since 2000 has been CCPPP’s role in spearheading a move toward CPA only accreditation. At the 2003 AGM, our major focus was the issue of concurrent accreditation. Two motions were passed unanimously in favour of developing a process whereby academic programs and internships could work toward choosing CPA accreditation alone rather than joint CPA-APA accreditation.


Alden, L., Mothersill, K., Steffy, R., McIlwraith, R., Steinberg, R., McMullen, L. & Tasca, G. (1996). Priorities for professional training in the 90’s. Perspectives of directors of Psychology training programs. Canadian Psychology, 1996, 37, 223-228

Craig, K. (1993).The organization of professional psychology in Canada. In K. S. Dobson & D. J. Dobson (Eds.), Professional Psychology in Canada. Toronto: Hogrefe & Huber. pp.11-45

Doyle, A.B., Edwards, H., & Robinson, R. (1993) Accreditation of professional training programs. In K. Dobson and D. Dobson (Eds), Professional Psychology in Canada. Toronto: Hogrefe and Huber, pp. 77-106.

Year President Organization

1977-78 Park Davidson University of British Columbia

1978-79 Ken Craig University of British Columbia

1979-80 David Evans University of Western Ontario

1980-81 Anna Beth Doyle Concordia University


1982-83 David Evans University of Western Ontario

1983-84 E. Ellis University of Manitoba

1984-85 Anna Beth Doyle Concordia University

1985-86 Frank Auld University of Windsor



1988-89 Bob Van Mastrigt Alberta Children’s Hospital

1989-90 Bob Van Mastrigt Alberta Children’s Hospital

1990-91 Bob Van Mastrigt Alberta Children’s Hospital

1991-92 Susan Pisterman Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

1992-93 Jeanne Ridgely Toronto Hospital

1993-94 Bob McIlwraith University of Manitoba

1994-95 Dick Steffy University of Waterloo

1995-96 Lynn Alden University of British Columbia

1996-97 Vicki Veitch-Wolfe London Health Sciences

1997-98 Kerry Mothersill Calgary Health Region

1998-99 Dave Clark University of New Brunswick

1999-00 Bill Koch University of British Columbia Hospital

2000-01 Bill Koch University of British Columbia Hospital

2001-02 Janice Cohen Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

2002-03 John Pearce Alberta Children’s Hospital

2003-04 Patricia Minnes Queen’s University

2004-05 Valerie Holms University of Manitoba

2005-06 Laurene Wilson Saskatoon Health Region

2006-07 Ed Johnson University of Manitoba

2007-08 Sandra Clark B.C Children's Hospital

2008-09 Nicola Wright Royal Ottawa Health Care Group

2009-10 Josephine Tan Lakehead University

2010-11 Ian Nicholson London Health Sciences Centre

2011-12 Mike Teschuk

University of Manitoba/Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

2012-13 George Hurley University Counselling Centre Memorial University

2013-14 Rupal Bonli Saskatoon Health Region

2014-15 Robin Adkins Edmonton Consortium

2015-16 Arlene Young University of Guelph

2016-17 Catherine Costigan University of Victoria

2017-18 Brent Hayman-Abello London Health Sciences Centre

2018-19 Sara Hagstrom Northern Ontario Psychology Internship

2019-20 Sara Hagstrom Northern Ontario Psychology Internship

Copyright © 2020 The Canadian Council of Professional Psychology Programs.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software